The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

Book Review & Author Interview: The Good Fight by Andrew Grey

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on September 24, 2012

Book Review & Author Interview: The Good Fight, by Andrew Grey

Book Blurb
Jerry Lincoln has a problem: his Sioux Falls IT consulting business has more work than one man can handle. Luckily, that means he can hire some help.

Jerry just hopes his new employee, John Black Raven, ends up being more helpful than distracting—but John’s deep eyes and long hair are very distracting. John came to town for an education and a chance at a life he couldn’t have on the reservation, but what’s important to him now is getting a job and keeping it. Six months ago, his sister died, and now her children are in foster care. Despite having the law on his side, John can’t get custody—can’t even see his niece and nephew.

As Jerry and John grow closer, John discovers he doesn’t have to struggle alone. Jerry helps him win visitation rights and provides much-needed support. Yet their victories aren’t without setbacks. Child Services is tangled up with money, politics, and red tape, and Native American children are their bread and butter. But John and Jerry are determined to fight the good fight and to win—in more ways than one.

Book Review
If you enjoy m/m romance stories, I highly recommend this book. It is very realistic, and not a romance where both characters are living in the clouds. There is love, suspense, and a great end to this story.

Jerry Lincoln, who lived most of his life in San Francisco, moves to Sioux Falls when his grandfather falls ill. After his grandfather passes away, he stays in Sioux Falls and starts an IT consulting business. Jerry’s business is so successful that he needs to hire more employees to be able to finish all the work.

A friend gives Jerry resumes of possible candidates and he interviews all of them. However, his interview with John Black Raven has a lasting effect on him. Jerry cannot get John out of his mind.

Jerry hires two people to work for him, one of them being John. At first, Jerry thinks that it will be hard to concentrate working with a guy that he finds attractive and so intriguing. Jerry keeps stealing glances at John, and a few times catches John looking at him as well.

One day Jerry decides to put himself out there and try to get to know John a little better. John is a Native American that moved from the local reservation to go to college and get a job since there was limited opportunities for him there.

However after the typical get-to-know-you-questions, Jerry finds John a bit distracted. Jerry learns that John is fighting to get custody of his sisters children who were taken by social services when she died. John is now out of college, has a job, and a place to live… but they still won’t grant him custody of his niece and nephew. This is because their Native American children and are worth more in the foster care system.

Jerry offers to help John get custody of his niece and nephew anyway that he can. They are in for a long battle, but grow closer because of it.

You’ll have to read the story to see what happens with the children, and also just how close Jerry and John become ; )

At the Authors After Dark Convention in August 2012, I had the great pleasure of meeting Andrew. He is such an awesome guy and the biggest sweetheart. Andrew was so kind and extremely down to Earth. Andrew allowed me to ask him questions regarding his latest story, The Good

Fight.Learn more about Andrew Grey here:
Andrew Grey’s Website
Andrew Grey’s Blog: Making the World Sexier One Reader at a Time
Andrew Grey’s Facebook Page
Follow Andrew Grey on Twitter

Enjoy this interview with Andrew!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The Obscured Vixen: Being in the IT field, did you draw on your background when writing about Jerry?
Andrew Grey:
Actually I drew on a lot on the people I work with rather than myself. I’m a project manager rather than a developer, so I drew on a number of the developers I work with and sort of melded them together in developing Jerry.

TOV: Did you do a lot of research on Native American culture when writing about John and his tribe?
AG:
Yes I did. I also have a friend who is Native American so he and his wife were both immensely helpful in providing background information. It also helped that when I was younger I visited one of these reservations while on a family vacation so I was able to develop a feel for the reservation.

TOV: What made you want to start writing erotica?
AG:
I really don’t consider what I write to be erotica. Yes there is sex in my stories but I only include it as a representation of the advancement of the relationship between my characters. And I never really set out to write what I do, it sort of happened organically. That being said I have to tell you this story. A number of years ago, I hosted a birthday party for my father and everyone kept telling me how much I looked like him. That was the inspiration to join a gym and lose weight and I quickly realized I needed something to help pass the time while I was on a treadmill. And nothing works better to make a half hour go faster that reading about sex. I discovered gay romance and then decided to try writing one. The rest is history.

TOV: Have you ever written a scene based on personal experience? Or is it all fantasy?
AG:
I have written scenes based on personal experience. When I started out, Dominic and I tried all my scenes together. Oh the joys of research. As time passed, the need for that kind of research passed, but we still do it anyway.

TOV: Have you ever read something you wrote and thought, “Wow! That was awesome!”
AG:
Yes. There have been times when during the editing process I get lost in what I’ve written. That happened with The Good Fight as well as unconditional Love. Recently I was editing a novella Shared Revelations and I actually had to remind myself that I’d written it because I got lost in my own story.

TOV: Which of your works are you most proud of?
AG:
Love Means… No Boundaries, Artistic Appeal, Love Comes Silently, and The Good Fight. And each for a different reason. In Love Means… No Boundaries, Robbie is blind and half the book is told from his perspective. It really made me feel the world from a different perspective. In Artistic Appeal, Nicolai is deaf and in Love Comes Silently Patrick is mute. Each of these stories helped me grow as a writer because it removed some of the tools we use and I had to develop new ones. In The Good Fight, I think it’s the first time I really purposely wrote the book with a cause in mind. Other times its just worked its way in, but with this story, it was there from day one.

Other Author Interviews

2 Responses to “Book Review & Author Interview: The Good Fight by Andrew Grey”

  1. Andrew Grey said

    Thank you for the wonderful review. I really appreciate it. Meeting you at AAD was a pleasure.

Leave a Reply

 
