The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

AADNOLA Day 1

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on August 8, 2012

AADNOLA Day 1

Not really the official first day of AADNOLA, but I’ll count it as Day 1 since I arrived a day early. I had a very uneventful flight, and the plane was only half full. So I got the entire row to myself!

Once I landed and got my luggage, I hopped on a shuttle that would take me from the airport to the Royal Sonesta Hotel. During the ride I checked my Twitter, and noticed that Cat Johnson tweeted that she was on a shuttle to her hotel. I thought to myself, “What are the odds?”

Sure enough, I look around and against the other window I see a cute little brunette with a cowboy hat!

After my fangirl moment and probably embarrassing the hell out of Cat Johnson, I checked into my hotel room and began to unpack. Once I was settled, I wanted to see the sights.

So I met up with Katiebabs and we went wandering around the French Quarter.

We might as well have had “TOURIST” stamped onto our foreheads  LOL  Kate had a New Orleans Tourist Guide and I had my huge camera around my neck. We ended up at an erotica shop called “Second Skin,” which was awesome. They sold everything you could imagine, and the woman that worked there was awesome. While we were talking to her, she got a call from someone asking where the good glory holes were in the city! She said they get calls like that all the time.

After our (very humid) outing, we walked back to the hotel to meet up with Jen from Red Hot Books, Jen from That’s What I’m Talking About with Twimom227, author Teresa D’Amario, and author Carolyn Crane.

We walked to Cafe Maspero for dinner, and had excellent po-boys. We then walked to Jackson Square and took fun pictures in front of the St. Louis Cathedral. I also got to see the Mississippi River for the first time!

The next stop on our trip was to Cafe du Monde for beignets. Total yumminess, and reminded me of zeppoles. We then decided it was time to get our drink on, and went to Pat O’Briens for some famous New Orleans hurricanes. And yes, they were utterly delicious!

Day 1 was so awesome, I cannot wait for the actual convention to start tomorrow. So excited!

10 Responses to “AADNOLA Day 1”

  1. twimom227 said

    It was a fun day and it was so awesome to meet you. What’s on tap for tonight?!

  2. what a great day. what is this event exactly

  3. It was a blast!!! So much to see, not enough hours in the day!

  4. You took some great pictures!!!

  5. xaurianx said

    Great post, thank you for sharing the fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
