The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

BEA 2012 Convention Day 2

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on June 9, 2012

BEA 2012 Convention Day 2

June 5, 2012

For my fist time at BEA, I absolutely loved it and cannot wait to go back again next year!

My second day at BEA started out with an author breakfast. There were breakfast tables set up in the main events hall where I ate breakfast with other bloggers, publishers, librarians, and teachers.

On the stage in front of us was a panel of authors: Stephen Colbert, Junot Diaz, Barbara Kingsolover, and Jo Nesbo.

Stephen Colbert’s opening speech was absolutely hilarious (as he usually is). He stated that “as a late night talk show host, the one thing I love is breakfast and talking literature.” He continued to make fun of vampires, 50 Shades of Grey, and other pop culture topics.

Colbert stated, “Since a book about sex could be listed on the New York Times Best Seller list, it is okay for me to talk about my penis.” Throughout his entire speech, he would randomly make references to his penis: “Blue vein shaft throbber,” “Rock hard loin plow,” and “Purple helmeted groin warrior.”

Colbert was promoting his new book AMERICA AGAIN: Re-becoming the Greatness We Never Weren’t. The book will be in 3D (literally coming with 3D glasses) because of how well The Avengers movie did in 3D. “I literally want the pages to turn right at you… and make over $200 million opening weekend.”

Junot Diaz was also very funny, but in a dark subtle humor kind of way. He spoke about how important people who promote books really are; how authors couldn’t do it without us. Diaz wrote a story about “young dumbasses” that wanted to find love, but didn’t want to admit it.

Growing up Diaz’s sister would say how different boys were in public, then in their own him. This is where Diaz got the idea for a book about how hard it is for guys to fall in love because they have to make themselves vulnerable which goes against everything guys are taught growing up.

Barbara Kingsolover had a very interesting quote to say about getting published: “How did authors get bumped up to be in the same circle as the funniest guy on Comedy Central?… All celebrities get book deals, and the person least willing to get a book deal is a writer.”

Jo Nesbo is from Norway, so naturally he was cute and spoke with an awesome accent : ) Nesbo spoke about how he was a guitarist and stock broker while writing. Things became too much Nesbo and he needed a vacation. He booked a flight to Australia and began writing full time.

After breakfast, I went up to the Autograph Area where there are scheduled author signings. If you look at the picture above, you’ll know why people were calling it the ‘cattle pen.’ They were herding us like cattle while on line to meet these authors.

I met and received autographed books from Lee Woodruff, Sylvia Day, and Maggie Stiefvater from the autographing area.

Sylvia Day was so unbelievably sweet! She took extra time to talk to me just bullshitting about life after signing her book.

I almost missed the Lee Woodruff signing, so by the time I got there they were closing down the line. I ‘lovingly persuaded’ them to let me through.

As I was walking down the row to meet Lee, there was no one in front of me. She started signing “Here she is, Miss America…”  hahaha  I did some twirls as I approached the table. Lee was such a riot and it was so awesome meeting her. She even complimented my Doc Martens and said she loved how I was “decked out comfortable.”

A majority of the show floor was made up of publisher booths; everything from romance to fantasy, children’s books to textbooks. Literally any kind of publisher you could imagine was represented and was there.

There were publishers giving out free samples of books, literally more books than anyone could carry! The best part was a lot of publishers were giving out advanced reading copies of books that do not come out until later in the fall.

At the Ellora’s Cave booth, the Ellora’s Cavemen were there taking pictures! There were four cover models in the booth and were autographing their calendars in tank tops. Totally drool worthy! (Click here for beefcake photos!)

While I was looking at the calendar, I asked the cover models, “There’s a big difference between you guys in the calendar and you guys today.” Naturally, they looked at me like I was nuts. I continued, “You guys aren’t wearing shirts in the calendar.”

I literally made huge, strong male cover models blush! They said that they had to wear the shirts, but were thinking of wearing body paint next year. Score!

There were also author in-booth signings from their publishers besides the autograph area. That’s where I waited on a very looooong line and was able to meet Melissa Marr. *squee, fan girl moment*

There were also tons of celebrities doing signings of books that they had coming out.

Kristi Yamaguchi had a new children’s book coming out and was talking about the book, as well as what it was like to be an amazing figure skater.

I was able to talk to her after the interview, and she was unbelievably sweet! She was so humble, down to earth and absolutely drop dead gorgeous!

Unfortunately there were some celebrities that you needed a VIP ticket in order to meet. Molly Ringwald was one of those celebrities. I was able to see her though, and she looks exactly like she does on tv!

At the end of the day I brought home 32 books, and had bruised shoulders and aching feet. But it was totally worth it!

I went to bed super early, and woke up early the next day to do it all over again…

Other BEA Related Posts:

4 Responses to “BEA 2012 Convention Day 2”

  1. Yay Melissa Marr! I had no idea Kristi Y. was there! It’s so amazing how there is always a surprise at BEA whether you find out that day or after.

  2. jenn said

    Agreed! Syvia Day was really nice! I got her book signed for my sister (but didn’t tell her that) but she talked about how she loved my hair and thought the name of my blog was great:)

    I’m glad you had a great time! I can’t wait to go back next year too!

  3. xaurianx said

    It sounds so absolutely great! But I guess you should take a trolly on wheels next time! That way you can carry as many books as fit inside.

Leave a Reply

 
