The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

Author Spotlight: Emma Lai

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on May 21, 2012

Author Spotlight: Emma Lai

I can sum up Emma Lai’s stories in two words: Smoking. Hot.

Here are blurbs from two of Emma Lai’s steamy works:

Blurb for Riding Rodeo: The last person Amanda Goodson expected to walk into her bakery was Sean Cassidy, the bareback bronc rider who rode her hard one night and left without a good-bye the next day. Since then, she’d sworn off one-night stands and cowboys, but one look at the man she called Rodeo leaves her hankering for another ride. A nasty injury ended Sean’s career and left him with nothing but time to contemplate past sins, especially the most damning one…walking out on Amanda, the one woman he couldn’t forget. Eager to right the biggest mistake of his life, he finds Amanda–and learns he has competition. Never one to back down from a challenge, he offers to fulfill her darkest fantasy–taking two cowboys for a ride.

Blurb for Tempting Terms: Sabrina MacKenzie needs someone ruthless to help her maintain control of her father’s company. Who better for the job than self-made millionaire William Fitzpatrick. Too bad she left him without a word five years ago. But to gain William’s assistance, Sabrina is willing to do anything–even if it means playing the submissive. Will William be tempted by her terms?

Emma Lai’s stories are not only sexy, but fun and witty. Her characters are real and truly heartfelt.

Even in her short stories, Emma Lai creates in depth characters like I’ve never read before. Usually in short stories an author doesn’t have enough time to truly develop a character. Emma Lai not only develops them, she creates worlds around them. When the stories end, you’re left begging for more.

The sex scenes are hot and wicked… and gloriously descriptive ; )

If you’re a fan of erotica, you must read stories by Emma Lai.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

One of my favorite parts about being a blogger is being able to meet amazing people. Emma Lai is one of the sweetest, funniest people I have ever had the pleasure of talking to.

Emma was kind enough to do an interview for my blog. So read on and enjoy!

Obscured Vixen: How long have you been writing?
Emma Lai:
I’ve been writing romance since the summer of 2008, so going on four years. But, I’ve been writing something, either school papers or business documents, and enjoying it, all my life. 🙂

OV: What made you want to start writing erotica?
EL:
I’m an avid reader of spicy and erotic romance. After selling a sweet, I moved to spicy and then erotic. Gotta keep challenging myself and writing erotica really teaches an author the importance of sensory details.

OB: Have you written any scenes based on personal experiences? Or is it all fantasies?
EL:
I’ve written quite a few scenes based on personal experiences. I’ll leave it up to readers’ imaginations on whether those scenes involved s-e-x or not.

OV: Have you ever wrote a scene, reread it, and thought, “Wow. That was great.”
EL:
Yes, especially in later pieces I’ve written. Many times I’ll open a w.i.p. and be like, “Did I write that?” and be intimidated. Pretty funny stuff.

OV: Have you ever had issues with publishers trying to edit your work?
EL:
Yep. I’ve definitely made a few concessions to get my work published. However, the scenes that have been cut are just waiting for their moment. They will be published.

OV: What work are you most proud of?
EL:
I am, of course, proud of all my work. I’m pretty proud of the sequel to Twice is Not Enough. It’s in edits with The Wild Rose Press and I can’t wait for release day, as yet to be determined. I’m also working on a full-length multi-racial that I’m pretty proud of.

OV: What genres do you enjoy reading?
EL:
I pretty much read anything with an enjoyable plot and characters. Generally, the genre I read depends on my mood. I mostly enjoy stories that cross genres for that very reason.

Other Author Interviews & Book Reviews:

9 Responses to “Author Spotlight: Emma Lai”

  1. Emma Lai said

    Thanks for the wonderful compliments! The interview was fun. 🙂

  2. Wow! This is why I loved following blogs! Both of these books sounds like books I would love! Adding them to my tbb list now! Thanks for sharing. I love reading!

  3. Phuong said

    Just stopping by to say “hi”. You know I love you & your books, Emma! Can’t wait to read more from you 😃

  4. testerus said

    а что это за непонятные комменты тут?

Leave a Reply

 
