The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

Author Interview and Review: Inhale, by Kendall Grey

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on April 25, 2012

Author Interview and Review: Inhale, by Kendall Grey

Strangers in reality, inseparable in dreams…

After years of suffocating under her boss’s scrutiny, whale biologist Zoe Morgan finally lands a job as director of a tagging project in Hervey Bay, Australia. Success Down Under all but guarantees her the promotion of a lifetime, and Zoe won’t let anything—or anyone—stand in her way. Not the whale voices she suddenly hears in her head, not the ex who won’t take no for an answer, and especially not the gorgeous figment of her imagination who keeps saving her from the fiery hell of her dreams.

Gavin Cassidy hasn’t been called to help a human Wyldling in over a year, which is fine by him. Still blaming himself for the death of his partner, he keeps the guilt at bay by indulging in every excess his rock star persona affords. That is, until he’s summoned to protect Zoe from hungry Fyre Elementals and learns his new charge is the key to restoring order in the dying Dreaming. He never expects to fall for the feisty Dr. Morgan…nor does he realize he may have to sacrifice the woman he loves to save an entire country.

This is a book you can totally judge by it’s cover. The cover is absolutely stunning, and the story inside is just as phenomenal.

Inhale has characters that you completely identify with, and root for all the way through the story. There are characters you love to hate, and mysterious characters you can’t wait to learn more about.

The entire dynamic of this book was unlike anything I’ve ever read. There are two different worlds: the real world (as we know it today), and the Dreaming (where humans go while they’re sleeping). The Dreaming is an actual place. So when humans get hurt, they wake up feeling pain. If they die in their dream within the Dreaming, they die in their beds in the real world.

When Gavin Cassidy isn’t being a badass rock star, he’s a Sentinel: a protector of humans in the Dreaming. This is how he meets Zoe Morgan while she’s dreaming about drowning while trying to save a whale. It was love at first sight for Gavin (since he knew Zoe was a real person), while Zoe just thought she conjured up a hot guy to dream about.

They began meeting in the Dreaming every night and eventually Fyres determine that Gavin is spending a little too much time with this particular human. Gavin’s ex, Scarlet, gets jealous and is determined to take her down.

Scarlet, however, is not the only one that is going after Gavin. Gavin’s mentor, Yileen, has recently stepped down as leader and Gavin is next in line. Once word spreads, all of the Fyres plan to take Gavin down.

Turns out Gavin isn’t the only one in trouble. By day, Zoe is a whale biologist on a research venture in Australia. A local whaler, Catherine Marchand, always seems to know exactly where Zoe’s boat is. Catherine even goes so far as to close enough to have their boats crash. Catherine admits that someone paid her to keep Zoe down, but won’t admit who her backer is.

One of the coolest things about this book that I can’t remember ever reading before, was that the main characters don’t actually meet until the last three pages of the book. Gavin and Zoe spend all of their time in the Dreaming together. Zoe didn’t even know that Gavin was a ‘real’ person until about three-quarters of the way through the book.

When they finally see each other in real life, their entire world’s stop. Gavin is performing on stage with his band and Zoe just happens to be at the bar at the same time. Zoe feels her entire being shift on it’s axis, and Gavin stops playing just to stare at her. It gives you chills!

When I finished this book, I wanted to throw across the room (in a good way!) because it ended too soon. I wanted more!

I definitely recommend this book, and cannot wait for Exhale to come out later this year.

One of my favorite aspects of blogging is the ability to meet awesome people that do amazing things. Kendell Grey is totally one of those people. All proceeds from the Just Breathe series are going to whale education programs.

And, I mean c’mon, how can you not love a chick who ends her ‘Acknowledgements’ section with: Last but not least… To everyone who said no, this middle finger is for you. :- )

Kendall Grey is an amazing woman, and was kind enough to do an interview to go along with this blog post. Enjoy!

Blog: http://www.kendallgrey.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/KendallGreyAuthor
Despicable Tweets: http://www.twitter.com/kendallgrey1
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5108885.Kendall_Grey
Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/hmcmg

Obscured Vixen: I think it’s wonderful that all proceeds from the Just Breathe trilogy will be going to whale education programs. What made you decide to do this?
Kendall Grey:
I’m a former teacher, so education is really important to me. Whales are my passion, and they need the money much more than I do. Donating to programs that teach people about the challenges whales face is a great way for me to get my education and whale fixes in one fell swoop. ;- )

OV: That’s so awesome : ) Did you do a lot of research on whales for this book? Or have you always loved whales?
KG:
I haven’t always loved whales. I got hooked during an education course I took a few years ago. We went out on a whale watch boat every day and taught passengers all about the whales we saw. It was truly a life-changing experience for me. When I got home, I gobbled up everything I could about whales and basically taught myself about them. Now I go into schools and share information about whales with kids. It’s SO much fun! I also go around the world to do whale watching, and I learn and see something new on every trip. I’m truly addicted!

OV: What made you decide to have your main character, Gavin Cassidy, be a famous rock star?
KG:
Rock stars are just plain hot, in my opinion. I’ve always been a big music fanatic – the louder and more obnoxious the band, the better. Hahaha! I pictured my dream character (no pun intended), the perfect combination of a badass hottie mixed with some swoon- worthy vulnerability, and voila! Gavin Cassidy was born. :- )

OV: I like it! When I finished this book, I was so frustrated because I wanted more! When will the next book in the series be released?
KG:
Ha! Sorry to frustrate you. You won’t have to wait too long, I hope. I originally planned to put out book 2, EXHALE, on June 5, but it’s starting to look like I’ll have to push that date back a bit. I hope to have the book ready in early July, if not sooner.

OV: Will we see more of Catherine Marchand, and find out who is after Zoe?
KG:
Catherine will make some brief appearances in the following books, and yes, you will definitely find out who’s behind the “plot” to get Zoe.

OV: Will we also find out why Sinnder is different from all other Fyres?
KG:
Ah, Sinnder. I love that Fyre Elemental! Yes, yes, and yes, you will find out much more about Sinnder. He is very different from other Fyres, and there’s a BIG reason why. You’ll see at the end of the the last book, JUST BREATHE. I’m planning to write his full story in a follow-up to the JUST BREATHE trilogy. :- )

OV: Can’t wait! How long have you been writing?
KG:
I started writing the first draft of INHALE in August, 2008, so almost four years. I’ve spent all of this time on the JUST BREATHE trilogy. In between writing novels, I found time to write two short stories. One’s a horror short entitled “London Calling” in the CITY OF HELL CHRONICLES, VOLUME 1. It’s nothing like my urban fantasy stuff–not at all for the faint of heart. HA! The other is a short called “Lá Breithe” in END: AN APOCALYPTIC ANTHOLOGY. All profits from that book go to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. Fans of JUST BREATHE might enjoy “Lá Breithe.” It’s about a Fyre Elemental. And it’s important to my trilogy. That’s all I can say. :- )

OV: Have you ever wrote something, reread it and thought, “Wow! That was awesome!”
KG:
Ha! I wish it happened more often than it actually does, but yes, I sometimes read a line or paragraph and wonder who the hell snuck onto my computer and wrote it while I wasn’t looking. ;- ) But it’s usually only after several revisions. Very rarely does something awesome pop out and not need editing. Layering and revision are very long, difficult processes.

OV: Which of your works are you most proud of and why?
KG:
Wow, that’s a tough one. I really love EXHALE because of the conflict. The end of that book makes me cry every time I read it. It pulls hard at my heart. But just because I love it doesn’t mean everyone else will. If it makes readers cry too, then I’ll know I did a good job. :- ) To answer your question though, I think I’d have to say I’m most proud of INHALE, simply because it was such a long, involved struggle to get it to see the light of day. Four years is a very long time to spend on one piece, but it was worth all the blood, sweat, and tears.

Other Author Interviews & Book Reviews:

7 Responses to “Author Interview and Review: Inhale, by Kendall Grey”

  1. Thanks for the AWESOME review of INHALE and for having me on your blog today, Vixen! The interview was super fun. 🙂

  2. E M Danzer said

    Love the interview, Kendall. I can’t wait to read Inhale! And congrats on another great review!

  3. Lynn Rush said

    Awesome post!!! Inhale is a great book. LOVE Gavin and Zoe!!!! 🙂 May 1st release date is coming up !!! 🙂

  4. Emma said

    Blurb and book cover are great. And I have to agree, rockstars are totally hot! 🙂

  5. xaurianx said

    Awesome review, and then a lovely interview, I loved reading them both, and am looking forward to reading the book myself.

  6. I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Very well written!

Leave a Reply

 
