The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

My Latest Vacation: NYC

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on April 7, 2012

So why have I been MIA for the last week?
My imaginary firmed came to visit me in NYC from the land of Oz!

I love when people visit because I get to be a total tourist and do things I usual don’t. Also, one of my favorite hobbies is photography, and there’s always things to take pictures of in NYC. People born and raised near NYC always take it for granted and usually don’t do a lot of the “touristy” stuff until someone comes to visit.

New York City is also my absolutely favorite place ever. I mean, where else can you buy an appetizing dirty water hot dog and see condom balloon tumbleweeds blowing down Broadway?

It’s always fun showing people around NYC that have never been before. First thing you do with people who have never been to NYC before? Go to Times Square!

We went to times square at night, and it’s amazing seeing the faces on people who see Times Square for the first time; all lit up and bright. “It’s like daytime here!”

While in Times Square we went to the Hershey Store, M&M World, The Disney Store, Toys R Us, Aeropostale, and even saw the New Year’s Eve Ball (they leave it up year round now).

The next morning it was time to go through Columbus Circle to Central Park! We saw the horse drawn carriages, Wollman Ice Skating Rink (yes, it’s still cold enough to ice skate in NYC), and stopped to visit the Central Park Zoo.

Then we walked down The Mall which ended at the beautiful Bethesda Terrace and Bow Bridge; one of my favorite places in Central Park. We walked to Strawberry Fields and saw John Lennon’s “Imagine” tile memorial.

Next it was shopping at The New York Dog Shop! Had to buy clothes and toys for my adorable nieces  : )

Next was more shopping at the Converse and Dr. Martens stores. I must admit that before this week I have never owned a pair of either. Now I have a pair of black and purple high top Converse sneakers, and 20 eye Doc Martens. I *might* have a little shoe fetish.

That night we went to a New York Rangers game in Madison Square Garden. Unfortunately they lost, but I did get to see my boy Lundqvist in action.

Side note: riding the NYC subway with someone who never has is always a hilarious experience.

There was more sightseeing at FAO Schwartz, Tiffany & Co., St. Patrick’s Cathedral, and Forbidden Planet. Walking into Forbidden Planet made me SO excited for New York Comic Con. Geekdom cannot come soon enough!

We also saw Carnegie Hall, the LOVE Sculpture, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center (ice skating still there, too!), and the shops on 5th Avenue (Sacks, Harry Winston, Cartier, Fendi, Gucci, Armani, Dolce & Gabbana).

Because you can never do enough shopping in NYC, we did more shopping at LEGO Store, The Sanrio Store, Victoria’s Secret, and Old Navy and Journeys in Herald Square. [FYI all New Yorkers: they’re redoing VS in Herald Square and it’s going to be 4 floors!]

We bought I<3NY tshirts; a must for every tourist. Then stopped to get a drink in Starbucks before going to the top of the Empire State Building. It was a windy and cold since it was midnight, but it was a clear and beautiful night.

Then my imaginary friend had to leave, and I had to return back to work and normal life. I will admit that it was nice to take a break from Twitter and blogging, but I missed you all!

6 Responses to “My Latest Vacation: NYC”

  1. vicky said

    Love the post, I’m going to NYC for my holiday this year so its given me a few hints on where to go, thanks 🙂

  2. Emma said

    I visited New York back in 2004 and would love to go back, hopefully someday soon.

  3. melissaseclecticbookshelf said

    Sounds ike so much fun! I used to love playing “tourist” when I lived in Salem MA.

    PS I do find it hard to believe that it was cold enough to ice skate though! I’m just over the river in Jersey and it’s been 90 degrees! all week!

Leave a Reply

 
