The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

Book Review: Vengeance in Death, by JD Robb

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on October 10, 2011

Book Review: Vengeance in Death, by JD Robb
Genre(s): Romance, Suspense

Police lieutenant Eve Dallas found the first victim butchered in his own home. The second lost his life in a vacant luxury apartment. The two men had little in common. Both suffered unspeakable torture before their deaths. And both had ties to an ugly secret of ten years past–a secret shared by none other than Eve’s new husband, Roarke.

Each book in this series keeps getting better and better!

We kept getting little insights into Roarke’s past, and it was so great to finally see into his back story. Too bad it was his poor friends getting killed off!

People from Roarke’s past keep getting murdered, and all the evidence points to Summerset. The evidence is so strong that even Eve isn’t sure if Summerset is guilty or not. During the investigation, we find out the details of Summerset’s daughter death. The people that are dying are people that were either involved or knew what happened to them.

Eve and Roarke went to Ireland to bring home a friend that died, and visited some of Roarke’s old friends while there. These scenes were really enjoyable, and it was nice to see Eve and Roarke taking things easy for a bit. I wonder if in the future books we’ll actually get to see Roarke’s father. He was mentioned by numerous people, and Roarke even went to the building where he lives. Big mystery there!

Poor Eve is always getting beat up, or threatened, and this time almost gets blown up in her car. I will admit that I’ll miss that shitty transport of hers. It really had character!

During Eve’s investigation, we find out that Summerset was being set up for all these murders by his artist ‘lady friend!’ This was a woman that he cared for, squeezed her way into his life, to purposely set him up for murder. Poor Summerset!

I love the scene where Roarke and Eve have sex, and she mentions that he’s beautiful and so in love with him. Roarke freezes because Eve never says things like that unprompted. He turns to her and asks, “Did you just call me beautiful?” and begins to tease her. This brought a huge smile to my face. I love how awkward Eve’s character is and how Roarke plays on that. It’s so cute!

I also give JD Robb huge props for keeping her character loyal to themselves. I can’t stand when characters begin to change into different people throughout a series. I understand it, but once I fall in love with a character and I don’t want them changing. JD Robb is so great at developing her characters that they practically walk off the page. I’m thoroughly enjoying this series and I’m glad there’s 35 more to go! Can’t wait to see what happens to Eve and Roarke next  : )

PS – I wish Peabody were real so I could hang out with her. That chick is awesome!

4 Responses to “Book Review: Vengeance in Death, by JD Robb”

  1. aurian said

    I am glad you liked the book, this series is one of my favourits, and absolute autobuy and read-at-once as soon as the book falls on my doormat.

  2. alice said

    Love this series as well. When I discovered it two years ago I read it straight through. It is wonderful how she builds on their relationship with eachother and with their friends. In each book you see growth. Love I, Death!

  3. […] Comments (RSS) « Book Review: Vengeance in Death, by JD Robb […]

  4. What i do not realize is if truth be told how you are no longer really much more neatly-liked than
    you may be now. You’re very intelligent. You know therefore considerably with regards to this subject, produced me in my opinion imagine it from a lot of numerous angles. Its like women and men aren’t interested until it is
    one thing to do with Girl gaga! Your personal stuffs great.

    Always take care of it up!

Leave a Reply

 
