The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

Book Review: Max, by James Patterson

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on September 20, 2011

5 of 5 stars
Book 5 of the Maximum Ride series
Genre(s): Young Adult, Suspense

Just when Max and the Flock are settling into blissful freedom, a hoard of monstrous Machine Geeks come a-knockin’. These unholy hybrids are at the beck and call of Mr. Chu, a megalomaniac of uncommon intensity.

So far this is my favorite book in this series!  Max’s mother gets kidnapped and is being held on a submarine in the Pacific Ocean.  The entire flock flies to a naval base in Hawaii to help get her back.  The only way that the navy will allow the flock on a submarine to save Dr. Martinez is to go through basic training.

Training with the navy in Hawaii was absolutely hilarious. The fact that Iggy and Gazzy referred to the training BS?  Great!  During the combat training, the government agents were ‘incapacitated’ by Gazzy and a six year old Angel.  Loved the scene when they had to explain that to their superior!

I’m liking how Angel is coming into her own.  Her standing up to Max and then yelling at the sharks was just so… adorable!  She’s a cute little six year old trying to be a hardcore badass and I can’t help but smile.  I have a feeling she will grow up to become a very powerful young woman.

*singing* Love is in the air… Fang and Max, finally!  Woot woot!  It’s about time.  Although I will admit I was enjoying Max’s inner termoil over ‘the red headed doctor.’  Max and Fang going on their first official date was so sweet. It brought back old dating memories.  They were so awkward that it was adorable.  Total also falls in love!  He falls paws-over-heels for Akila, one of the rescue dogs at the naval base.

Don’t mess with Max’s flock or family.  The flock saved Dr. Martinez with a vengeance, killing a new form of machine underwater erasers.  Once Max and crew found Dr. Martinez, she says to Max, “I knew you would find me.”  Sweet family moment that almost brought a tear to my eye!

Max is maturing as a flock leader and pseudo mother.  She allows Nudge to stay at a school, even though Max and the rest of the flock does not want to.  Max is letting the rest of the flock ‘spread their wings’ and make their own choices as they grow older.  I can’t wait to see how the Max and the rest of the flock matures.

This book was all around solid fun. It had its usual suspense and great story.  A definite recommend!

6 Responses to “Book Review: Max, by James Patterson”

  1. My mom insisted I read this series. I loved the first few, but I think I quit after Max. She has continued & says they get better. Maybe I’ll pick it back up again.
    Glad you loved it. Great review!

  2. Aurian said

    I have never read anything by this author. How many books are there in this series, cause it sure sounds delicious and funny.

    • James Patterson is one of my favorite authors. He is a great suspense/mystery/action writer. The Maximum Ride series are about teens and kids that were genetically engineered by scientists. I love their story and would definitely recommend this series if you enjoy fantasy and suspense.

  3. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this superb blog!
    I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this site
    with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  4. tin tuc said

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually realize
    what you are talking approximately! Bookmarked.
    Please additionally visit my web site =). We will have a link change arrangement among us

  5. Aw, thіs was аn incredibly nice post. Finding tɦе time and actual effort
    tⲟ cгeate a reаlly good article…bսt whazt can I sаү… I procrastnate a lot
    and don’t seem tⲟ get neɑrly anytҺing ԁone.

Leave a Reply

 
