The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

Book Review: One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on September 8, 2011

5 of 5 stars
Night Huntress series book 6
Genre(s): Urban Fantasy

Having narrowly averted an (under)world war, Cat Crawfield wants nothing more than a little downtime with her vampire husband, Bones. Unfortunately, her gift from New Orleans’ voodoo queen just keeps on giving–leading to a personal favor that sends them into battle once again, this time against a villainous spirit.

Centuries ago, Heinrich Kramer was a witch hunter. Now, every All Hallows Eve, he takes physical form to torture innocent women before burning them alive. This year, however, a determined Cat and Bones must risk all to send him back to the other side of eternity–forever. But how do you kill a killer who’s already long dead?

Let me preface this review by stating that Bones is one of my favorite leading romantic males in all of literature. I’ve been reading these books since the second book came out, and it made me fall in love with UF and PNR. So all you ladies back off… Bones is mine!

I really enjoyed this book. It had a captivating bad guy, was emotional, and fully action packed. The final scene in the corn field was a constant page turner and I couldn’t put the book down. Full of amazing suspense and constant great fighting scenes.

In this story, you can really see how Cat and Bones relationship is growing and maturing. Cat is still selfish and does what she wants, but in this story she thinks about how Bones would react before she acted on her own. (And poor Spade thinking they really broke up!)  Cat and Bones stood as a united front throughout this entire story. The playful way that these characters interact always brings a smile to my face. When Bones coats Cat with his aura and pours his love and concern over her kept giving me goosebumps. Love, love, loved it!

My favorite thing about this series is how Frost keeps her characters true to themselves and their beliefs. Cat is still a feminist, hot-head and continues to take in every poor thing that needs help (enter Tyler!). Bones is still demanding and protective, and as sexy as hell  : P   It really makes the series more enjoyable that the characters are consistent throughout the series; some authors change their characters personalities to fit the story.  No compromising for Frost. Keep it up, girl!

Interaction between Tyler and Ian was classic. Tyler is a medium that is introduced to help with a ghost that is killing women every Halloween. I’m assuming another reason why Tyler was introduced is to help Don cross over when he’s finshed with his business with Madigan (arrogant bastard). I can’t wait until Madigan gets what is coming to him.

I’m not sure if ghosts can, but I hope Fabian finally gets some nookie! God knows Elizabeth hasn’t had any in the last few centuries.

Speaking of nookie… do I even need to say how amazing it would be to have sex while flying? Jeanine Frost gave us a new “Chapter 32.” I’ll admit I read it twice : )

A definite recommend for any urban fantasy or paranormal fan.

3 Responses to “Book Review: One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost”

  1. omg! this sounds awesome!!! and i still dont have it ! ahhhh i am so happy you loved it and Great review as always

  2. I love this series & I loved this book! Jeaniene Frost simply amazes me w/her brilliant writing. Cat & Bones are my favorite couple. Love couples that stay together & work together.
    Nice review!

  3. […] Book Review: One Grave at a Time, by Jeaniene Frost […]

Leave a Reply

 
