The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

Book Review: Carpe Corpus by Rachel Caine

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on September 6, 2011

5 of 5 stars
Series: The Morganville Vampires book 6
Genre(s): Young Adult, Urban Fantasy

In the small college town of Morganville, vampires and humans lived in (relative) peace-until all the rules got rewritten when the evil vampire Bishop arrived, looking for the lost book of vampire secrets. He’s kept a death grip on the town ever since. Now an underground resistance is brewing, and in order to contain it, Bishop must go to even greater lengths. He vows to obliterate the town and all its inhabitants-the living and the undead. Claire Danvers and her friends are the only ones who stand in his way. But even if they defeat Bishop, will the vampires ever be content to go back to the old rules, after having such a taste of power?

This was by far my favorite Morganville Vampire book. This series started out as filler for me,than Rachel Caine really stepped it up and now I’m addicted!

And Claire is finally 17! Yeah! This could be the moment that I’ve been waiting for since the series started. The scene between Claire and Shane was truly heartfelt. It could possibly be one of my favorite of a young woman losing her virginity. I love when YA books are realistic and don’t glorify sex as this life changing, magical moment. The scene was so sweet, and funny, and awkward that I think everyone could relate to. Absolutely loved it! (I’ll admit I read it twice : )

I like how the vampire disease is really starting to take a toll on Morganville. This is something that I’ve never read about before in any other series. Caine plays with your emotions really well: at times you hate the vampires, and at times you want to help save the vampires. Especially Mernin. He is such a complex character that you can’t help but fall in love with him. Sometimes he’s an insane psychopath, and other times he’s like an innocent child.  I love Caine’s character development of all her characters… like Shane’s father. I love that he is now a vampire. Making a vampire hunter into a vampire? Classic.

Ada, however? I’m not sure what to think about her. I thought the whole concept was a little iffy, and just kind of fell flat.

My favorite character in this series? Eve. She could be one of my favorite literary characters. I totally want to hang out with her. She is hilarious, and real, and so true to herself throughout the entire series that just makes me love her (yeah, total girl crush).

A definite recommend! But read the other books first, or you will not understand what the hell is going on.

2 Responses to “Book Review: Carpe Corpus by Rachel Caine”

  1. aurian said

    Another series I have yet to start reading. Thanks for the review.

  2. […] Book Review: Carpe Corpus, by Rachel Caine […]

Leave a Reply

 
