The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  • ¬†Reading Challenges

Book Review: Bloodlines by Richelle Mead

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on September 5, 2011

5 of 5 stars
Genre(s): Young Adult, Urban Fantasy

When alchemist Sydney is ordered into hiding to protect the life of Moroi princess Jill Dragomir, the last place she expects to be sent is a human private school in Palm Springs, California. But at their new school, the drama is only just beginning.

Populated with new faces as well as familiar ones, Bloodlines explores all the friendship, romance, battles and betrayals that made the #1 New York Times bestselling Vampire Academy series so addictive – this time in a part-vampire, part-human setting where the stakes are even higher and everyone’s out for blood.

When I first heard this book was coming out, I was a bit nervous to read it. Vampire Academy is one of my favorite series, and I absolutely LOVED Rose and Dimitri. I wasn’t sure how a new series in the same world would work, since I’d read other that flopped. But this book was fantastic! Richelle Mead does it again, and she does it perfectly.

I liked the book before the story even began when reading the dedication, “For… other fans of Adrian.” Adrian was one of my favorite characters from the VA series, and I hated seeing his heart broken. But it was one of the best things Richelle Mead could have done: it was realistic, shows not everyone gets a HEA, and I believe that Rose and Dimitri really belonged together (so did Adrian, actually!).

I’ll admit sometimes when reading this book you can ‘hear’ Rose come through as Sydney. I can’t imagine how hard it was for Richelle Mead to have Rose in her head for four years, and have to change voices. Besides a few lines, she did an excellent job.

The story line with Keith, an alchemist from Palm Springs, was extremely suspenseful. I just wanted to know what happened between them in the past. When it finally comes out, I wanted to hire Abe to take care of Keith myself.

Speaking of Abe, I was so happy that Richelle Mead finally explained what Abe was holding over Sydney’s head. That has been bugging me since Sydney was first introduced into the VA series!

I enjoyed the story line of students getting tattoos with alchemist metals. It brought the reader out of the VA world and into the alchemist world; which Richelle Mead did very well.

I figured out that Jill and Adrian were linked before it was revealed, but thought it added a whole new level of interest to the story. Jill dying shows how badly others want her dead. So until the law can change where other family members must be alive, Lissa and Christian should just pop out a couple of kids (hey, a girl can dream, can’t she?). Also, I loved that Jill was hungover because of Adrian’s drinking!

The one thing I’m unsure of is if I like this new-and-improved Adrian. I get that he’s trying to move on and get his life together, but I fell in love with the smoking, drinking, cursing, no care attitude. For example, the scene where Adrian is going on job interviews? Classic! But now Adrian is taking a bus to take college courses without getting credit for it? That’s not Adrian to me. Again, I understand why, but I’m not quite sure if I like it. I’ll have to wait until the next book to find out.

I enjoyed the structure of this book more than the VA series because there were more simultaneous story lines: protecting Jill, vampire hunters, going to school, alchemist tattoos… it was great! I enjoy YA novels much more when there are multiple story lines. Richelle Mead handled this beautifully. However, because there was so much going on, this book left us with so many questions! Who was calling Nevermore looking for vampires? Why did Sydney’s blood taste different than others? Was Lissa’s grandfather’s brother the spirit user that turned Lee Moroi again? (he lived close to Palm Springs, and how many other spirit users are out there?) Is there a deeper reason why Sydney doesn’t like magic? She has such a strong feelings that it makes me think something else must have happened. Or maybe I’m just looking for something that isn’t there.

And talk about the cliffhanger of all cliffhangers. How can Richelle Mead end a book like that! The last four words of this book had me so angry it ended that I wanted to throw it across the room. I didn’t want it to end! I’m ready for the next book NOW.

A definite recommend to everyone, even if you haven’t read the VA series. It was awesome!

4 Responses to “Book Review: Bloodlines by Richelle Mead”

  1. aurian said

    O great post, I am for sure going to read this book someday.

  2. i have not read any of these books but i have heard so many good things totally missing out i think.

  3. I enjoyed this book as well. I was so happy to hear Adrian was going to be a part of this series, he’s awesome. And I didn’t see the bond coming.

  4. […] Book Review: Bloodlines, by Richelle Mead Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

 
