The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  • ย Reading Challenges

JR Ward Signing and Q&A

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on August 14, 2011

JR Ward Book Signing and Q&A Session at Barnes & Noble
Saratoga Springs, NY. August 13, 2011 @ 2pm.

So after traveling five hours to get to Saratoga Springs, waiting in line at sunrise for two hours to get bracelets, our Black Dagger Babe book club was ready to meet the WARDen. JR Ward is by far one of the coolest author that I have ever met. She is an absolute riot! She was cracking jokes about the Brothers, cursing like a trucker, and getting tangled in that damn Smurf robe!

To please her fans, Ward even went so far as giving out three ARC copies of Envy (release date September 6, 2011). One of which who went to the fan that traveled the farthest: someone came all the way from Florida!

So here’s the scoop:
– The WARDen is currently writing Rhage and Mary’s novella, which has now transformed into a short book. She is approximately three-quarters complete with this story.
– Ward knew that writing Tohr’s book was going to have to be written, and she knew it was going to be hard for her. Tohr has been through so much and is still in love with Wellsie. It was extremely hard for Ward to write Tohr’s journey. She said that even though he physically may be attracted to someone, the heart and mind may take a while to follow. Usually the Brother’s books take place over a very short timeline. Lover Reborn will take place over the course of a year.
– During Lover Unleashed, we were all waiting for a big family reunion between the Scribe Virgin, Vishous and Payne… but it never happened! Ward stated that it is going to be a while before this little family is on good grounds. The SV is at rock bottom right now, and it will take her a while to get out of it.
– Lassiter will be getting his own book. Ward is going to keep him with the Brothers, but can see how his story crosses over to the Fallen Angels series.
– Ward stated that Qhuinn and Blay fans will not be happy with Lover Reborn (loud groan from the room). She then said, “You all need to chill the fuck out. You know it’s going to happen. Just give it some time!” The room broke out in laughter. Ward stated that about three-quarters of the way through Lover Reborn it will be very clear who will end up together.
– When asked if there will be a cohntehst in the series, Ward responded “Absolutely, 100%.” However, she did not mention who. [Perhaps Murhder and John Matthew ๐Ÿ˜› ]
– Assail is a new character that will be showing up in Lover Reborn. Ward mentioned that next to Z, he is her favorite character. “Assail is the shit!”
– There will be a threesome in the Envy and Lover Reborn. [woot woot!]
– We will see a new member inducted into the Brotherhood in Lover Reborn or the following book. Ward did not mention who this character will be.
– Jose de la Cruz will appear in Envy, as well as a future BDB book where he runs into Butch! Jose is out to dinner with his wife at a fancy restaurant, and sees Butch across the room with a gorgeous female. Their eyes connect, and Jose knows that it’s Butch… then he remembers nothing. Butch wipes his memory!
– Ward can see a “pretty cool cross over between the BDB and Fallen Angel series.”
– It is planned who Trez and iAm end up with: one of the characters we have already met, and one we have not.
– Ward has a third series outlined, but would not give any details regarding it. She does not know if this series will ever come to light because she is still extremely busy with the Brothers and Fallen Angels.
– When asked if Rhage will be in the next book, Ward said “there is a highly anticipated, hilarious scene with Rhage in Lover Reborn.”
– Before Dark Lover was published, Ward send a copy to a list of reviewers for feedback. One of the reviewers said “if you love LA Banks you will love JR Ward.” Ward was extremely honored to be included in the same category as LA Banks since Ward followed her and honored her work. She was extremely upset about the loss of LA Banks.

The best part?
I asked JR Ward, “Since I know you won’t tell us what Layla’s talent is, can you pleeeease tell us when we will find out what it is?” She thought about this for a moment, then said, “Well, it’s coming…” and thought some more about when it would be. As she was thinking, the entire room burst into laughter. Ward then realized that she implied that Layla’s talent was ‘coming.’ Ward laughed so hard that she began to cry and could barely speak to answer the question. She then walked over and gave me a huge high-five for making her laugh so hard. I then proceeded to freak out, and squeal like a ten year old girl to my book club bitches.

JR Ward was unbelievably down to Earth, and absolutely hilarious. I can now see where Rhage and Butch’s humor come from, since Ward made comments I could hear the Brothers saying. Loved, loved, loved meeting her! I would travel another 5 hours to meet JR Ward again in a heartbeat.

View photos from the event by clicking here.

Watch our Black Dagger Babe’s book club video from JR Ward’s Facebook page! Click here to view.

39 Responses to “JR Ward Signing and Q&A”

  1. Loni said

    WOW!! She sounds like a cool lady!! So glad you had a fab time!! I’m really enjoying this series, I’ve go so much to look forward to.

  2. Mahlet said

    Thank you for taking such detailed notes and sharing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oh great recap!! Thanks so much!!

  4. Rain Maiden/ Jen E said

    Sooo very cool! Thanks for the post. It makes me jump up and down for Lover Reborn.

  5. omg it sounds like you had a blast… i am glad you had fun even though i am green envy i wasnt there lol.

    • If she is ever close by, I highly suggest meeting her. She signed books for everyone that showed, an the Q&A was close to two hours. Not to make you more jealous *blushing* It was totally worth missing work and traveling 5 hours to meet her. The things we do for our fave series!

  6. Emily said

    I’m so behind in this series but reading this post makes me want to catch up. Glad you had such a blast!

  7. Christin said

    Thanks so much for sharing! I cannot wait for Lover Reborn!

  8. Mandi said

    You are sooooooooo awesome for sharing this. I LOVE your question. LOL.

  9. […] Ward had a book signing this weekend up in New York and The Obscured Vixen went and wrote up a fab post giving us all the good spoiler info that we all […]

  10. Missie said

    Thanks for sharing this! Awesome tidbit and lots to be hopeful about, meanwhile, I think I need to find a way to chill the fuck out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Kathy H said

    So glad you asked her that! Your question and her reaction to the audience’s laughter was such a funny moment! Loved that! I also loved her answer to the V&SV topic when she said “Let’s just say V won’t be making Mother’s Day brunch plans” (or something close to that) She is one classy, gorgeous, talented, HILARIOUS woman and well worth going to see. You got a fantastic picture of her laughing abt your Layla question; so fun. (I loved that her adorable dog was with her too.) I totally missed her comment abt the new series; thanks for your great notes!

    • It’s awesome that you were there also! I had just as much fun as you did, and agree that she is one, classy, gorgeous, talented and HILARIOUS woman. I would see her again in a heartbeat! And the fact that I made her laugh so hard… literally one of the best moments of my life ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. Thank you for sharing! I’m glad you had a great time, hopefully someday I’ll get to meet J.R. Ward too.

  13. OMG what an fabulous post! That is so awesome you were able to meet the WARDen in person. And she gave you a high-five!!!!! Thanks for sharing the info with us ๐Ÿ˜€

    I still need to read Lover Mine. I’ll be skipping Lover Unleashed (I am not a fan of Payne or Manny) but I am definitely looking forward to Lover Reborn.

    • Her giving me a high-five was a definitely highlight in my life! Lover Mine was absolutely fabulous! But I’ve always been a John Matthew lover. Lover Unleashed was so-so for me. It’s really more of Vishous’ second book, than about Payne and Manny.

      • JM is my favorite brother ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t believe I’ve had LM for a year and a half and still haven’t read it yet.

        Interesting that you say LU is a second book of V’s….I’m still upset about the whole ghost Jane thing….

  14. Alice Edwards said

    I agree. It was totally amazing. Glad I got to meet you and the girls as well.. Was right behind you on line #40.

    Alice Edwards

  15. GLORIA said

    It was hysterical and she is the BEST!! Thanks for the summary. I was the one who asked the first angel question and also got a copy of Envy. I started it last night and will probably be done by tomorrow LOL I can never put her books down ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ahhhh! I can’t tell you how jealous I am that you got an ARC copy of Envy!! I loved Issac in the last FA book, and was so happy when she said that he’ll be back in the other books. Still soooooo jealous!

  16. Great recap! Thank you for capturing it all and sharing with the rest of us BDB FANS! ๐Ÿ˜€

  17. Danielle said

    Yay, Trez and iAm get a book!
    … But, *gulp*, I hope Layla isn’t paired up with one of them. Even with all her super power coming.
    LOL

    Thanks for the awesome re-cap!

  18. Paula said

    thanks so much for posting this! Lots of things to think about! now its just the waiting!!!! boo…

  19. Obscured vixen, can’t tell u how happy I am to find this share post!
    I’m a blogger form Brazil and was lookin’ for posts about this very one book signing of Ward. I knew it would be full of juicy spoilers!! And it is!
    So jealous green for u have this oportunity. Guess we’ll never have the same here in my cowntry… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Well, at least I have u and the girls to tell every little detail abou our beloved Brothers.

    Girl, I used your post as foundation for a post in my own blog. It’s in portuguese, but I gave u the credits. If u can read spanish a little maybe u can understad the things I wrote there.
    It’s at http://peixinhoprateado.blogspot.com/2011/08/tarde-de-autografos-da-jr-ward-dia-13.html

    Thanks for everything again!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • I’m so glad that you enjoyed the post! I’m sorry that she will probably never visit your country, since she barely travels around the US! Thank you so much for linking to my blog (even though your is in Portuguese ๐Ÿ™‚ ! You’re awesome ๐Ÿ˜€

  20. Keisha Talley said

    You are so lucky would have loved to meet her

    Ktalley28@ gmail.com

  21. MsMissy71 said

    Yes, by all means lets mess with JM some more ๐Ÿ˜ฆ hopefully you are wrong about that one but i doubt it. The Warden seems to enjoy torturing him.)

  22. Amy said

    OMG! You were the one that asked the Layla question! I was at the signing as well and completely agree with you, the WARDen is AWESOME!! I drove 4 hours and would absolutely do it again. She said she may come back next summer. Seeing her in person made me love her even more.

    • hahahaha I was the one that asked the Layla question! That’s awesome that you were at the signing also!! I was soooo excited when she said that she may come back next summer, I would totally be there again in a heart beat. I agree with you 100% about seeing her in person made me love her even more. She was not what I expected… but she was so badass! I loved it!

  23. […] the recent Envy signing also produced some amazing BDB spoilers, with highlights from The Obscured Vixen (Click on the link to find out about Laylaโ€™s talent. I swear itโ€™s worth it!) and My Secret […]

  24. dog collar…

    […]JR Ward Signing and Q&A « The Obscured Vixen[…]…

  25. […] Performing Event Post: JR Ward Signing and Q&A Posted on August 14, […]

  26. […] Check outย Obscured Vixen. (no relation ) She has a couple of great J.R. Ward signing posts HERE and HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

 
