The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

Book Review: Fallen, Lauren Kate

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on August 9, 2011

3 of 5 stars – Good stuff.
Genre(s): Young Adult, Urban Fantasy

Blurb from Goodreads.
There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.
Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.
Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce–and goes out of his way to make that very clear–she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.

My Review: This book tended to fall into your typical chick-lit YA formula: girl goes to a new school + new girl becomes popular + has lots of new friends + boys falling all over new girl = maybe I’m getting too old to read this genre?  I think so  : )

The one thing that bothered me about this book was that Luce did not seem to have a care outside of deciding which boy she wanted to be with. I don’t like the thought of young girls reading books like this because it’s not accurate for real life; there are other aspects of life besides boys. But I also understand why girls enjoy reading these books; it is a great escape for girls putting themselves in the leads place to feel what the lead character is feeling. I know, I know… I’m contradictory. Just stating that I understand it, but don’t necessarily agree with it.

Throughout the entire story, you know that Luce and Daniel are the couple from the prologue and the story does not pick up until Luce realizes that.  Lauren Kate creates an excellent concept for the story and it is extremely thought out. This was the first YA book that I’ve read using reincarnation that I really enjoyed.

The last few chapters and the epilogue really made this book worth reading. Kate does a phenomenal job of including one hell of a cliffhanger ending that will definitely have me reading the next book in this series. I’m hoping that Torment picks up right where Fallen leaves off. I can’t wait to see where Luce and Daniel will go from here…

3 Responses to “Book Review: Fallen, Lauren Kate”

  1. torment is better youll like the second one more i think…more action in it.

  2. Lauren Kate definitely set it up perfectly for a second book, and I already downloaded it because I heard it was great. I can’t wait to read it. I alwas give the first book in the series more leniency because of the “first book series syndrome” because the author has to set everything up. Can’t wait to read Torment!

  3. […] those of you that read my Eternal post, this one will be nothing like it.  Torment was miles better than […]

Leave a Reply

 
