The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

Book-vs-Movie: Midnight Bayou

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on August 2, 2011

Book: 4 of 5 stars – A definite recommend.
Movie: 3 of 5 stars – Good stuff.

Up front: I read the book first.

I’ve been a loyal Netflix user since 2006, and am one of the people that do not mind paying more for their services. I’ve always taken full advantage of it, and will continue to do so!

I recently searched through their made-for-TV-movies of popular books. I don’t know about you, but once in a while I get in a hot bubble bath with a nice sappy romance novel. Recently I read Midnight Bayou by Nora Roberts, and noticed it was on Netflix! I ordered the disc and waited patiently for it to come in the mail.

Midnight Bayou was a definite page turner for me. I couldn’t put it down! Declan Fitzgerald, your typical hunky guy born into money, has decided to leave his law firm in Boston and buy a grand house in Louisiana, Manet Hall. The house has not been lived in for years and need lots of work. While Declan is working, he begins to hear and see things that are not really there. Thinking it is all in his head, he doesn’t tell anyone.

Declan’s neighbor, Angelina Simone, pays him a visit, the two hit it off, and *spoiler alert* Angelina spends the night. Angelina is woken up in the middle of the night by a crying baby. Angelina is also hearing things that are not currently happening, but does not admit this to Declan.

It turns out Declan and Angelina are the reincarnation of the previous residents that were murdered in the house. This was a great paranormal twist that I did not see coming, and added an additional element to an already great story.

So when the DVD came in the mail, I make my popcorn and plop down in front of the TV. I’m one of those people that believe that “the book is always better than the movie.” Although that is true in this case as well, I thoroughly enjoyed it. It didn’t hurt that Jerry O’Connell played Declan ; )

The book was better, having more details and more character development as usual. But as a made-for-TV-movie, this was excellent. It was much better than I expected, and I kept it for another day to watch it again.

Bottom Line: If you read the book, definitely watch the made-for-TV-movie!  If you’re looking for a good chick lit or chick flick, definitely look into both! Midnight Bayou gets a thumbs up from me.

Up next for Book-vs-Movies: The Bourne Identity

Leave a Reply

 
