The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

Book Review: Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on August 1, 2011

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith
2 of 5 stars – Would not recommend.

I’ve wanted to read this book for a while, and read mixed reviews about it. I decided to finally read it when I heard they were making a movie of it (which you’ll see lots of in my future posts : )

The book started out strong, slowed down, then just seem to stop. It was more of a history book with scenes of vampires randomly thrown in.

Grahame-Smith explains how good ol’ Abe finds out about vampires and why he wants to kill them (interesting stuff). Then Abe meets Mary, knocks her up, and doesn’t want to risk his life hunting vampires anymore. Hmm… but the title of the book is Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. Okay?

At this point the book becomes strictly a history book talking about how Abe is on the campaign trail and running for president [fast forward a few chapters] and it’s time to go to Ford’s Theater.

This was the part of the book that I was most looking forward to; Lincoln’s well known murder. However, it hardly gets any build up or recognition! There is a nice twist with John Wilkes Booth’s back story, but otherwise this scene is quite lame. Then the book just finishes out without Abe.

Bottom Line: I expected more. The potential for a great book was there, but wasn’t taken advantage of.

6 Responses to “Book Review: Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter”

  1. Bailey said

    That is too bad that it wasn’t what you expected. From your review, I can see why you wouldn’t enjoy it so much. Great first review! =)

  2. Ouch! I had heard of this book a long while ago and thought it sounded interesting. Thanks for writing this honest review. I’ll steer clear of it unless I become curious again. Wonder how the movie would turn out though…

  3. How disappointing! Hopefully Tim Burton will be able to do something more with the movie….

  4. Rain Maiden/ Jen E said

    Well crap..I have this on my shelf. I paid bargain price for it so that’s cool. I will still read it….someday :). Thanks for the post.

  5. […] of 5 stars. I've wanted to read this book for a while, and read mixed reviews about it. …obscuredvixen.wordpress.com/…/book-review-abraham-lincol… Posted in: Vampire […]

  6. ethernyt said

    ethernyt…

    […]Book Review: Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter « The Obscured Vixen[…]…

Leave a Reply

 
