The Obscured Vixen

Book addict, blogger and designer living in a paranormal world.

  • My Blog Button

  •  Reading Challenges

Once Upon a Time -vs- Grimm

Posted by The Obscured Vixen on September 6, 2012

Once Upon a Time -vs- Grimm

I am proud to say that I am a huge fan of both of these shows. Both shows are based on Grimm fairy tales, however they both have a very different take on them.

Grimm reminds me of a paranormal Law & Order. The main character Nick Burkhardt (played by David Diuntoli) is a police detective usually solving ‘unusual’ crimes. Each episode is a different case dealing with different creatures. There is a running story line of Nick trying to come to turns with just learning that he is a Grimm and is supposed to be killing these creatures.

Only a few months ago, Nick found out from his dying aunt that he was in fact a Grimm. He had no idea what that meant, or what went along with it. Nick visited his aunt’s trailer, which was left to him, and found all kinds of texts and scrolls explaining the role of a Grimm. There were also pretty crazy weapons and potions too.

Nick has to hide the fact that he is a Grimm from his detective partner, Hank Griffin (played by Russell Hornsby). This is extremely hard when they come across a case where the criminal is from the creature world and realizes what Nick is.

Juliette (played by Bitsie Tulloch), Nick’s girlfriend, also does not know that he is a Grimm. He’ll come home from ‘work’ sometimes with scratches all over him and has to lie about how he got them.

Nick becomes friends with Monroe (played by Silas Weir Mitchell), who Nick is supposed to kill. Monroe is a blutbad, which is pretty much a wolf shifter. Nick doesn’t kill Monroe, and it’s the first time there is a mutual friendship with a Grimm and a member of the creature world.

While Grimm is more story based, Once Upon a Time is character driven. Emma Swan (played by Jennifer Morrison) gets an unexpected visit from her son that she gave up for adoption ten years earlier. She drives him back to his home in a small town in Maine, called Storybrooke.

Emma’s son Henry (played by Jared Gilmore) wants to live with Emma. He doesn’t like his stepmother Regina (played by Lana Parrilla), and sneaks out to spend time with Emma. After some time, Emma sees Regina’s true colors and doesn’t like her either. Emma decides she wants custody of Henry.

While Emma is in Storybrooke, strange things start to happen. Emma is the only one that has ever ventured into Storybrooke, and is the only one that can leave. The clock tower which hasn’t worked in years starts ticking. People begin acting strange, and some even disappear for extended periods of time.

Once Upon a Time is lighter and more upbeat than Grimm. I prefer the darker more mysterious side of Grimm; it’s just more my taste. However, the story to Once Upon a Time is different from anything I’ve ever seen.

All of the characters, except for Henry, are also Grimm storybook characters. Emma is the daughter of Snow White and Prince Charming. Regina is the Evil Queen from Snow White, and is often seen with red apples. The way the characters act in Storybrooke relate directly to how we see them act in the fairy tale world.

Comparing the cast of both shows, I would have to say that I prefer the cast of Once Upon a Time. The actors seem much more genuine, and not as stiff. I love to hate Lana Parrilla (Regina) and Robert Carlyle (Mr Gold). They just play the parts of evil characters so perfectly.

The touch chick attitude from Jennifer Morrison (Emma) is played perfectly and really makes you root for her. Jared Gillmore (Henry) also plays a great part for an actor his age (12).

Unfortunately, I think that my most favorite characters from Once Upon a Time are definitely underutilized: Eion Bailey (August W Booth) and Meghan Ory (Ruby). Eion’s character is so mysterious and seductive that you want more of him on screen. And Meghan Ory is such a fabulous Red Riding Hood that I always enjoy when she’s in an episode.

The actors on Grimm do not have as much of a personality. I actually prefer the supporting cast to some of the main characters. Sgt. Wu (played by Reggie Lee) is a uniformed officer with a great scence of humor. I really enjoyed Nick’s aunt in the first few episodes, but then she was killed off! They could have kept her around a lot longer, and I don’t think it really would have messed with the story line.

I will admit that Monroe (Silas Weir Mitchell) is my absolute character from both shows. He is so quirky and loveable I just want to give him a big hug : P I also loved him while he was on Prison Break, so I might be a bit biased.

In my opinion, both of these of great in their own way, and I will definitely be watching both this season!

8 Responses to “Once Upon a Time -vs- Grimm”

  1. Emma said

    Haven’t seen either of these shows, yet, but they’re on my list.

  2. MonaG said

    I enjoy both of these shows too. I like that they provide different takes on the fairy tales I grew up with.

    My favorite characters are Mr. Gold, Regina, and Monroe. They are cast perfectly.

  3. I love both of these shows, and if you’d asked me a few weeks ago, I would have said that OUAT was my favorite. But I’ve recently gone back and watched all of last season of Grimm again, and love it. Monroe is definitely my favorite too. I love both of these shows and am anxiously awaiting the return of Once Upon a Time, but I’ve really gotten into Grimm. They are so different!

    Courtney @ Fuzzy.Coffee.Books

  4. melissaseclecticbookshelf said

    Wait what? Monroe was on Prison Break? I only watched season one..and then it got too violent for me…but I don’t remember him…I’ll have to look that one up!

    Re GRIMM: He is my fav character as well…Love him:) It’s a toss up for me with these two. I was anticipating that I would like Grimm more because it was darker but at first it disappointed…all of the episodes seemed disjointed…no underlying plot except Nick coming to terms with life as a Grimm. Just a new Vessen (sp?) each week. By the end of the season though we started to get more of a story Arc following the episodes…and I was a lot more interested. Sadly this season they have moved to a later time slot and have gotten more gory…not sure how long I will last.

    Re OUAT: Mr Gold is my fav character on this one:) A bit lighter than Grimm and with a clear story arc from episode to episode, this one sucked me in from the get go. Love meeting each of the characters and learning all of their backs tories as the main plot line plugs along!

  5. I love Once Upon a Time. Grimm is just okay to me. It’s entertaining, but I don’t love it as much as I wish I did. I love how you describe Grimm as a paranormal L&O.

  6. MamaKitty said

    I have to admit that I’ve never seen Grimm, although my stepdad loves it (and he watches both shows). Me? I’m pretty much obsessed with OUAT. In a totally healthy way of course ;) I love the storytelling and the characters. It’s such an amazing show and I get pulled in every week. I can’t wait for it to come back!

  7. Miranda said

    Very cool post! Once Upon a Time is definitely a unique show, which is probably why I enjoy it so much. I haven’t seen any of Grimm, but a couple of my Dish co-workers love it. I think I’m going to take this review as the final push I needed to finally add it to my Blockbuster @ Home queue through my Dish account. The DVDs will show up by this weekend and I’ll be able to settle in with a new show. I’m sure I’ll love it; I love fairy tales and I’m not even sure how I missed watching it when the first season started!

  8. Ricki said

    I love both of these, too! On Once Upon a Time, my favorite character was the Sheriff, but he died early. I love Sgt. Wu from Grimm (when my husband and I saw Dark Knight Rising and Reggie Lee appeared, we both looked at each other and exclaimed “It’s Sgt. Wu!”). I also Monroe, and David Guintoli is from my hometown!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

